Notes From My Nightstand: On Pinterest Invites & Prickly Diseases

So, I’ve given no sign of life for over a week now. And I realize that, in the blogosphere, this kind of M.I.A. is nearly equivalent to readership suicide.

Well, here’s the deal, cherished folks who have chosen to stick around: even magical faerie-beings such as myself get sick sometimes, and my immune system has spent the past 7 days wielding shield and sword against an army of germs that gives new meaning to the word rhinovirus. (Which is a pretty dubious word, to begin with.)

This does not, however, concretely imply that I’ve been doing nothing with my bitter, Ricola-scented ass than rolling around in bed whining in self-pity and playing with my boyfriend’s Nintendo DS, while sniffling half-heartedly to the sounds of The Doors: The Essential Rarities.*

Oh, no; this grave period of my waning life has also been filled with hard work, intermittent research, and occasional revelation.

For example, yours truly found herself dedicating 72 entire hours to figuring out how the fuck to use the Pinterest forum.If you aren’t already familiar with this organizational tool -meets- online community, here’s a description that I copied from the website’s “About” section:

Pinterest is a social catalog service. Think of it as a virtual pinboard — a place where you can post collections of things you love, and “follow” collections created by people with great taste.

Simple enough, right?

Not if your name is Kitty.

3 out of 4 times that I tried to pin anything, all I got was an unsatisfying little “failure” message. To be fair, this is probably due more to my capricious Wifi connection than to actual error on the part of the P-man. (After all that mutual suffering, I think it’s safe to say the network and I are on bromance terms.)

Once I got past those early discouragements, I successfully created my first pinboard, in which I wallow along a nostalgic trail of sick-person cravings with the veneration and the attention span of a child. I called the board “Hivernal Comforts.”

Click image to view board

When I’m not feeling lazy, I generally like to give credit where it’s due, so I will say this: I owe my newfound Pinterest to the mystic and captivating Gabriela, to whom I should have expressed my sad confusion in the first place. (She’s also really nice and I’m sure she’d have helped out during those 4,320 minutes of solitary frustration.) Edit: Ben over at Pinterest is also extremely nice, and probably more used to helping out technological rejects like me.

Anyway, if anyone out there is interested in setting up his/her own Pinterest account, I’ve got 5 invitations to distribute, so let me know in the comments section. It is a rather fun and useful service, especially for bloggers, and has loads of interesting/inspiring images to browse.

Before I dive out for the afternoon, I’d like to anounce the winner of my Great Recession giveaway.

Drumroll, please…

RACHEL, you’re the winner!!!

A cheap, but warm-wishing envelope will soon be traversing the Channel to meet you in snowy London.

I’ve got several painful/funny stories and serious/mindfucking articles to share with you all, but for now I’ll take a humble bow and continue my vodka shot + suppository treatment plan.

Wishing you happy sneezes and a sufganiot-filled Chanukkah!

Love,

Your Kitty

*Although that would constitute a well-informed hypothesis.

 

Comments
16 Responses to “Notes From My Nightstand: On Pinterest Invites & Prickly Diseases”
  1. Ben says:

    Hi rachel,

    I’m very sorry you had some troubles getting started. Looks like you got the hang of it, but maybe I can help you out if you drop me a line. Ben-at-pinterest-dot-com.

    • yourkitty says:

      Hi, Ben. :)
      Thanks so much for the comment and the offer to help me out. I haven’t had any more difficulties, but I’ll be sure to go to you first if I need some advice.
      I edited my article to direct readers towards your page if they have any questions about getting started.
      Pinterest seems like an extremely useful and innovative web tool, and I’m certainly thankful to have the chance to participate in the network. I look forward to seeing it grow and I’ll be sure to stay in contact.
      Best,
      Kitty

  2. Thom says:

    I hope the shot of vodka and suppository are separate items, and you aren’t planning on taking a shot of vodka via suppository, as that would end quite terribly for you. (And would not help your illness. Probably.)

  3. Anne says:

    I hope your vodka works. Rhinovirus/virii (?) nowadays are intense. If people near me so much as sneeze, I really walk away and stay away for a while. It’s good you’re staying home! I hope you make time for candle-lit bubble baths!

    And as for Pinterest, I should follow/friend you… once I remember my username. I’m working on it.

    Feel better!!

  4. kelsmo says:

    oh, feel better soon!! especially with that concert coming up!
    and i am having similar issues with this pinterest thing..my friend invited me a few weeks ago and i have lost all hope.

  5. Olivia says:

    Dear Kitty,
    I love you. Please don’t die.
    Sincerely,
    Olivia

  6. Faith says:

    Hey, I’d love a pinterest invite if you still have one to give. I’m a photographer (35mm film) and am looking for a way to collect inspirations as well as my own photographs. If they get there shit together, it sounds perfect.

    Thanks a million and great blog- I love – Love – the profanity. The world is a better place for it.

    Faith

  7. Maddy says:

    If you still have any invites, it would be great if I could get one! I just discovered the site and it’s very neat!
    Hopefully you’ve gotten over your flu, although your post is back from the beginning of the month, they just seem to last forever!

  8. Piero says:

    I’d really like an invite please! Thanks!

  9. gabby says:

    I would also love to get one if you still have them! Thanks!

  10. Kami says:

    Still have an invite left? Getting in there is like getting in the White House!

  11. nydeeb says:

    Hi! I’d really like an invite! Any left??

  12. rux says:

    me tooo. I also want an invite :(

  13. Cute graphic, ugly sickness. Lol.

  14. Jenny says:

    I would love a pinterest invite!!!!

  15. Anastasia says:

    Hi! I really would appreciate being invited via konovalovaanastasia@yandex.ru! Please, help me, I’ve been vaitng for invite like for 2 months!

Leave a Reply

