Rally to Restore Beauty

Dear readers,

…Wow! Thanks so much for your support. Thanks also to those of you who have taken the time to share your thoughts on various posts. You’ve all left such honest and interesting comments, and in doing so, you’ve contributed immensely to this blog.

After reading your feedback on my last post (“Bite Me”) and having spent the last few days ruminating on associated themes (aesthetic surgery and the modification of human appearance in general), I’ve decided to try out a little project… and I NEED YOUR HELP!

For a while now, I’ve been intrigued and more than a little skeptical about the fact that most women – myself included – wear makeup on a daily basis, many of us refusing to go out or see friends if the shit isn’t meticulously applied to our faces. It’s become clear to me that for the average person, a woman is not beautiful as such. Today, we seem to believe that all women were born naturally ugly, and that makeup is an obvious solution to this problem.

 Sometimes, life can feel like a never-ending process of attempts at skin-deep self-improvement; this quest is gleefully encouraged by the beauty, fashion and medical industries, which offer all the products and services we “need.”

Well, ya know what? I’ve had about enough of feeling like I’m not beautiful unless I’m disguised by pigments and creams; I’ve had enough of feeling like an imposter who is not as “pretty” as she pretends to be.

It’s time to say f*ck it. I’m gonna show off my real face: the natural, beautiful, incredibly flawed face that the universe chose to bestow on me. And I want you to do the same.

Girls: I challenge you to choose one day to post a non-glitzy photo of yourself on your Facebook profile. No makeup, no Photoshop, no professionally-coiffed hair. Think mug shot, people! In the caption underneath, feel free to explain a little about why you chose to do this. If you want to mention the Rally to Restore Beauty or include a link to this post, you’re more than welcomed to; if not, that’s okay, too!

An alternate option is to spend one day at work or school without makeup, and to see if you notice any differences in the way that people treat you.

Boys: Many of you might not wear make-up, but you’ve got a shitload of expectations clawing at your back, as well! Use this project as an opportunity to challenge norms in your own way – what it comes down to is demanding honesty from yourself and others. This can be as hilarious as putting on makeup for a photo or to go out – irony! – or as simple as taking the time to appreciate yourself or someone else as (s)he is when (s)he wakes up in the morning.

Once you’ve done one of the above, I’d really love for you to come back here and leave a comment describing your experience (and, if you want, a link to the infamous photo)! Don’t worry – I won’t leave you hanging. I’ll be posting an all-natural picture of myself as a blog post, along with a wrap-up of our project. :)

On your marks… get set… GO!

(And keep me posted!)

Love,

Your Kitty

Images by Dabe Murphy

Comments
8 Responses to “Rally to Restore Beauty”
  1. anwa says:

    To be completely honest, I’ve never seen makeup as something I need to wear to be pretty. I only ever wear eyeshadow, and that because I enjoy applying flamboyant eye makeup, and foundation when I’m onstage so that I don’t look washed out. It kind of makes me sad to think that I may be alone in this regard.

  2. createh says:

    what a fabulous idea! i love that you are challenging other women to be brave! kudos

  3. PuppyKilla says:

    I told my girlfriend a while back to stop wearing make-up… Well, I didn’t TELL her to, I just said that she didn’t need to because I found her just as attractive (if not slightly more so) without it as with. She very rarely wears it now, only really to go on a night out or to go to work sometimes. As for me… Well, I go out looking like shit most of the time ;)

  4. Rachel says:

    I never wear makeup so for me this will not be hard to do. :) I agree though, so many women just don’t think they are fit to go out till they’ve gotten their make up on and we’ve forgotten what real make up looks like. It’s sad.

  5. Anne says:

    This blog that I also read, No More Dirty Looks, posed a similar challenge a few months back: http://nomoredirtylooks.com/2010/09/the-no-makeup-challenge-the-results-are-in/

    I go out without makeup sometimes, when I’m really lazy. People would usually ask if I were sick, or why I look so stressed. It’s really difficult to accept that I look so bad without makeup! But those are their eyes. I honestly only worry about how my boyfriend sees me (and he prefers no makeup), and how I see me. When I get home, I’m just happy I don’t have a load of chemicals to remove from my face.

    I feel inspired to write about this over at my blog and post a picture as well. One of these days, haha!

  6. I don’t wear make-up, but I do have my eyeliner tattooed. Once I was at the doctor and after a difficult procedure during which my eyes watered, the tech said, “At least your make-up didn’t run.” I thought she was crazy until I realized she was talking about the permanent makeup.

    Aimee (darzy30) – swapbot
    Blog Comments

  7. Fiona says:

    I don’t wear make-up regularly for two reasons. 1) I’m way too lazy to get up that little bit earlier in the morning. 2) I don’t want to get into the habit of wearing it and then, suddenly, I don’t ever want people to see me without it.

    I do think I’m prettier when I wear make-up and will put some on when I’m going out to a party or special event. I’m very lazy with my appearance and do wish I made more of an effort to let my natural beauty really shine out (by this I mean doing my hair right, wearing a nice outfit, etc) but I don’t think make-up is the answer to looking good every day. Besides that it’s a mask to hide behind, it just can’t be good for my skin.

Leave a Reply

